You are what you drink – taking stock!

This is my 10th blog in this series. As with every endeavour in life, it’s good to pause, take stock, and then plan ahead by looking backward from the future but living life forward. (Get it?)

Here’s the path we’ve tread together in the last few months.

ScreenShot206-001ScreenShot206-002ScreenShot206-003
ScreenShot206-004ScreenShot206-005ScreenShot206-006
ScreenShot206-007ScreenShot206-008ScreenShot206-009
(Click on any of the boxes to read that blog)

I have spoken to you about what to eat, how much to eat, when to eat.  And I have spoken to you about how, through all of those dimensions, to be more mindful about eating and increase your own self-awareness in the process.

Those who know me either in my existence in the world of Finance or in the world of Fitness (or both!) will know that I am not one to preach and not practice. So, I went back to my logs and diaries since the start of the year to paint for you a simple sketch of the things I’ve been doing – just as I’ve been preaching to you. To keep things interesting and relevant, I won’t mention my activities from the world of business and finance, but stick to what is most important, health!  (Needless to say, I spend most of my waking hours in front of a computer on business and financial models – a different world – the less said, the better!)

Sirsasana (Headstand)
Sirsasana (Headstand)

Following the Mumbai Marathon in January in which I was an official 2-hour pacer for the half marathon, I decided to take a multiple-week break from running for various reasons. In Setting Achievable Goals I spoke about setting goals and then breaking them down into bite-sized achievable mini-goals through processes you could focus on.  And the end result might often interact beneficially with other goals. Well, I decided to take up yoga for the first time in my life. My children have been doing yoga even before they learned to crawl (yes, seriously!) so my goal was to catch up with them by the end of this year. I joined the Yoga Institute in Mumbai and had 21 consecutive mornings there. As part of training under the American College of Sports Medicine I also discovered the most amazing yoga teacher in the city of Mumbai, and have been advancing my interest and ability in yoga. Her ability to teach advanced postures through demonstrations and clear instructions exemplifies her own level of incredible body self-awareness.

I continue to attend the Sunday morning Satsangs at the Yoga Institute – which is a little like going to Church, but without any specific religious ideology. If you live in Mumbai, I strongly recommend you attend one Sunday soon (it’s free!). It’s a satisfying way to reset the soul.

Optimal loading of a salad plate.
Optimal loading of a salad plate.

I’ve had the opportunity to practice eating sensibly at buffets at various places. I’ve even developed my own algorithm to optimize the loading of my salad plate at a salad buffet where you’re allowed only one serving. Engineers and architects will know what I am talking about. Oh, and are you mindful of the hidden bad calories in salad bars? (Just avoid the stuff with sauces and anything that looks creamy or syrupy.)

As part of my personal mission to make the country healthier, but having made a conscious decision to avoid meetings where one sits (“sitting is the smoking of our generation!”) which typically happens in cafes (more mindless eating and drinking) I have been encouraging friends to meet and walk with me a few evenings of the week where we can discuss, among other things, better living – physical and spiritual.

DSC_7372
A new genre of breakfast meal!

I mentioned earlier that I travelled around the North East of India during Christmas. During this trip, I also read the book Eat and Run by the famous ultramarathoner, Scott Jurek, which made me even more conscious of eating more and varied fruits than I had already been. I have also pretty much erased butter from my breakfast and have invented a few new breakfast dishes of my own (basically eggs, a lot of ginger, leftover rice (or bananas if there is no rice) and anything else for garnishing I can think of – with everything cooked in water rather than oil). During my main (Indian) meals, I’ve been eating a small quantity of the peel of a lime for a few months now, not just squeezing their juice into my food.  Even a tiny amount of raw peel contains more Vitamin-C than a whole lot of lime juice! In any case, Vitamin-C is water-soluble and there is almost no risk of toxicity.

Because I have taken a break from running, I am ensuring that I cycle as a form of cross-training. I have become more conscious of my gait when cycling in terms of maintaining neutrality for the spine. In addition I have taken a greater interest in lower body strength workouts at the gym, not just to prevent muscle atrophy but to actually increase lower body strength and power. As you might expect, I always track the load lifted and have made considerable progress over the last few weeks for this component of training.

Progress with Lower Body Strengthening
Progressive loading for Lower Body Strengthening

Staying active has meant that despite not running 165 km a month for almost 2 months I have not gained any weight or fat. In fact, it’s not impossible that I have lost fat and gained muscle (statistical tests pending). I know why that’s possible. Something for you to think about?

Being particular about timing (yesterday morning I waited till 0631 and then went cycling alone when my riding buddy for the morning didn’t show up for an 0630 start) I am more conscious of not drinking caffeine in a 2 hour window around my breakfast eggs as caffeine suppresses the absorption of iron whereas Vitamin-C promotes it (remember the quiz question in the previous blog?). Also on the mornings that I do no exercise, I continue to maintain the same pattern for breakfast time. As a large number of the lower body muscles are deep (as opposed to superficial) I am conscious of the fact that the repair process takes longer and so the workout-nutrition cycle is longer, perhaps 72 hours rather than 48 hours.

These are most of the things I have added onto my already fairly healthy lifestyle in the last 10 weeks or so. My purpose of laying it out thus is to demonstrate that many small steps take us to our ultimate goal.  The power of miniscule change!  But that’s enough about me, now tell me about you. Have you taken stock?  Observed any changes? Comment below please.

Puru

Dr Purnendu Nath is a health and fitness guide with broad and detailed understanding of how rest, exercise and diet interact with motivation to prepare busy individuals and sports enthusiasts to achieve their life goals.

20 thoughts on “You are what you drink – taking stock!

  1. Congratulations, Puru! We’re very proud of you!!
    Was planning to staet yoga at the Santacruz centre, unfortunately life has other plans for now…)
    Will surely do it soon
    Been having my own concoction of quinoa, tofu, and all the yummy veggies I have around:bellpepper, leek, broccolli, sometimes mushroom. It’s a super antioxidant, protein & calcium combo
    Breakfast has always been my favourite meal of the day:
    I love my 3 boiled eggs: 1 full, 2 egg whites, smashed with some feta cheese
    Cornflakes (sugarfree) with home made dahi & walnuts
    Hime made Banana milkshake with cinnamon and walnuts-it only takes 1 minute. You can add some cornflakes on top, for crunchiness
    And the best, healthiest, fastest dip or spread: mashed avocado with a drop of olive oil…on nice REAL wholewheat bread (not the sugary, coloured one!)
    Pesto makes for a great spread too, I prefer walnuts to pine nuts!
    Pumpkin seeds & sunflower seeds are the best snack!

  2. Hung Curd mixed with Vegetarian Mayonnaise is an effective substitute for butter. To this you can add shredded boiled chicken and vegetables and make sandwiches. For mothers working, this a good clean dry lunch for children to carry to school. A definite shortcut but un mistakenly wholesome.

      • The ratio is 3:1. Three small cups of Salad oil and one cup of chilled boiled milk. Place the salad oil over a bath of hot water (this helps trap air better) start pouring milk in it by the way of thread like consistency. And begin wisking with a electricity run hand wisk. That’s the way mayo at home is prepared. To this you can add ground ginger,green chilly,garlic paste,salt pepper and sugar. That is your veg mayo.To this you can add a few spoons of hung curd and to it add shredded chicken, carrots,cabbage,green peas. Stuff this entire mix between two slices of bread. Sandwiches ready.

  3. Way to go Puru … I must say I have to watch my diet more post my shoulder injury as I am advised not to run by my doctor. I used to run around 100-125 km a month and used to eat lot of junk foods thinking I will run some extra miles next morning. If i have followed the same lifestyle post my injury i would have put on so much but thanks to you that I have joined the 21 day yoga course. Doing yoga everyday, evening walks with friends and also eating healthy food have helped me to be more strong and fit. Your blogs have definitely helped me and i have not put on weight post my injury. Will be waiting for your next blog 🙂

    • Ajit, it’s always a pleasure to spend time with you. I also heard about your heroic actions (from a 3rd person) after you witnessed a road accident on a walk last evening. Our society needs more stars like you on the ground!

  4. Thanks for your blogpost Puru – always motivational!
    And I am intrigued by Anca’s food suggestions and Umadevi’s veg mayo recipe too – must try. I do a shredded veg sandwich with low fat mayo, carrots, cucumber, red cabbage, etc, seasoned with coriander, lemon and green chilli. It would be great to try this with your veg mayo.
    Due to some changes at work, I am going to be spending a lot of time working from home rather than an office. And so I have the perennial temptation of my kitchen for boredom induced snacking and coffee / tea drinking. Not to mention lunch at home most days.
    I’m a very unfussy eater – disadvantage – I eat everything all the time! I need to turn this into an advantage Looking forward to more motivation on this blog!

    • What’s wrong with eating lunch at home? It’s the BEST place to eat lunch!
      And, snacking small amounts of healthy stuff on a regular basis is also good.
      And, as long as it’s not too many cups… and the caffeine doesn’t interfere with other things, both tea and coffee are good for you!
      I work out of home… and eat rice for breakfast, lunch and dinner…. NO PROBLEM!!!

    • I don’t eat it neat. Even Indian pickle isn’t eaten that way, right?
      I just have a nibble with every bite of rice+daal/curry!
      I thought it was bitter at first…. but I suppose one gets used to it. I no longer think of it as something to avoid… but something to seek!
      My son, 10, sits next to me at the dinner table, and he too has a nibble (“just one” is my guidance, to break him into it slowly).
      To be honest I don’t like lime juice with my food (except for a few dishes, e.g. Thai salad) but I have it at every meal because I know it’s good for me.

      You must have tons of interesting healthy recipes (you’ve invented) to share… Looking forward to them soon.

  5. 1 Whole egg
    1 – 1.5 cups of finely chopped vegetables like
    Spinach, Capsicum, Tomato, Onion, Mushrooms, Broccoli, Cabbage, Carrot, Pumpkin, Finely chopped Amla
    Garlic / ginger / corriander leaves / oregano / pepper or any other garnish you like.
    You can add just about anything at hand, which is not particularly time consuming to cook
    Beat the egg, add the vegetables. The mixture would more resemble a salad than a batter. Add salt to taste.
    Grease a nonstick pan with 1 tsp oil.
    Pour in the mix, spread evenly. Cook covered till the top is firm.
    Shake the pan to loosen the bottom, and use a broad wooden spoon to flip over and cook the other side for a few minutes. Flipping over requires some expertise. If you can’t just slide it on to a plate. Allow to cool for 5 minutes to let the juices settle.
    Have it with a phulka or just plain.
    I like mine with a tiny bit of ketchup!

  6. All purpose Hummus
    1. 3 tbsp til
    2. 7-8 large cloves garlic, crushed
    3. 1/2 cup boiled kabuli chana with skin(even better if they are sprouted before boiling),
    4. 1/2 cup or more home made curd, as per consistency desired
    5. Salt to taste

    Add in the order given to a grinder, and blend to a smooth paste.

    Store in a glass jar for upto a week.

    As a salad dressing: Add to a medley of raw or steamed veggies… palak, carrot, cucumber, capsicum, broccoli, corn, bell peppers. Save some whole boiled chana for the salad too for a lovely texture.
    As a dip: Add chopped olives and some pizza herbsand serve with cucumber/carrot strips, rice crackers etc.
    As a spread: on roti or bread when making a roll or sandwich

    Can also substitute some rajma or soyabeans for chana to include a different protein.

  7. No-fry Dahi Wada

    3/4 cup mung sprouts
    3/4 cup chopped doodhi with skin
    1/4 cup chopped carrots or pumpkin
    Salt to taste

    Grind the above without adding any water. Does not have to be a very fine paste. The batter should be the consistency of idli batter.
    Add 1/2″ piece ginger grated and a few crushed peppercorns
    Add 1/2 tsp eno to the batter and mix well.

    Lightly grease a nonstick pan. Heat till almost smoking.
    Pour enough batter to form a 3/4″ layer and cook covered till the top is firm.
    Cook open for a few more minutes till you are able to flip it, then cook for a few more minutes.
    Allow to cool completely. (the inside will be sticky while its still hot)

    Break into small pieces. Put 3-4 pieces in a bowl and dress it as you would for dahi wada.
    Beaten curd, roasted jeera powder, red chilli powder, gud-imli ki meethi chatni, coriander leaves.

    • How is this ‘no-fry’ if you “grease a nonstick pan”?
      Perhaps you can call it ‘pan fry dahi vada’ instead?

Leave a comment